Regulations – Pennsylvania
The regulations and statutes on this page are subject to change and modification. The Society does not warrant the accuracy or status of the information on this page. Anyone examining this site should review their own state statutes or regulations for information. Publication of this information is educational only and does not constitute legal advice.
Know of updated information or have a suggestion? Let us know!
|Oversight Body:||None at this time (08/04). At some future date, it may be the Pennsylvania department of health.|
|Licensing Contact:||None at this time (08/04). At some future date, it may be the Pennsylvania department of health.|
|Legislative info available on this site:|
|Most recent legislation:||House Bill 615 put the Dept of Health in charge of the oversight of tattooists: http://www.legis.state.pa.us/2003_0/hb0615p0716.htmIt appears to have been enacted, but it doesn’t appear that the Department of Health has initiated the guidelines yet. http://www.legis.state.pa.us/WU01/LI/BI/BH/2003/0/HB0615.HTMThis information will be updated as it becomes available.|
|Other Law Resources:||http://www.alllaw.com/state_resources/pennsylvania|
Pennsylvania Statutes TITLE 18 CRIMES AND OFFENSES (P. S.) CHAPTER 2 THE PENAL CODE OF 1939 ARTICLE VII. OFFENSES AGAINST THE PERSON 18 P. S. §§ 4729. Tattooing minors Whoever tattoos any person under the age of eighteen (18) years without the consent of the living parents, or of the legal guardian thereof, if such minor is under the care of a guardian, is guilty of a misdemeanor, and shall, upon conviction thereof, be sentenced to pay a fine of not, more than one hundred dollars ($100), or to undergo imprisonment of not more than three (3) months, or both.
1939, June 24, P.L. 872, §§ 729. As amended 1972, June 16, P.L. 421, No. 122, §§ 3.
Pennsylvania Statutes TITLE 18 CRIMES AND OFFENSES (Pa.C.S.A.) PART II DEFINITION OF SPECIFIC OFFENSES CHAPTER 63 MINORS 18 Pa.C.S.A. §§ 6311. Tattooing A person is guilty of a misdemeanor of the third degree if he tattoos any person under the age of 18 years without the consent of the parent or guardian of such person.
1972, Dec. 6, P.L. 1482, No. 334, §§ 1, effective June 6, 1973.